top of page

Begin

I have been inspired, often, by the blog prompts of @imabima. But inspiration doesn't always lead to action, and so I make note of Phyllis Sommer's prompts and I think about what great poetry prompts they are (even though they are for blogs)... and then I promptly (that was for Phyllis, who will find that funny) don't follow up. This beginning time of year -- this new season, this new month -- I am going to give it a shot. I am going to #blogExodus with poetry, not the least because one of the projects I have gathering dust is a collection of poems called Narrow Places, and maybe it's time to bring that into the light, too. But first, begin.

What matters is that we begin. That we count.

That we take a breath and start. Anywhere.

Everything. Is new, is the past, is enough to stop us.

Keep us under. Cover.

Celestial, bodies turn. We equinox in protest.

Light peels back our eyelids. Rattles the shutters of our souls.

We are not mathematicians. Not today.

Today we start. At one.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page